Skip to main content


SA Ambulance Service provides ambulance services throughout South Australia, a population of more than one and a half million and an area of 984 482 km2.


Map of Metropolitan Stations Download Map (PDF, 112kb)

Our 20 ambulance stations in metropolitan Adelaide extend from Aldinga in the south to Playford in the north.




Thumbnail map of country stations Download Map (PDF, 79kb)

There are more than 70 ambulance stations in country South Australia and around 1700 volunteers and staff from Ceduna to Waikerie, Marla to Port MacDonnell. Of these 70 stations, 21 are in the state’s major regional centres.

There are a mix of career (based in major regional centres) and volunteer staff who service country areas in South Australia.

Importantly, without the 1500 dedicated volunteers around the state, many smaller country towns would not have an ambulance service. They do a fantastic job at supporting their local communities.

There are around 100 SA Ambulance Service trained staff at mining sites across the state who, while employees of specific mine sites, provide a vital service to those communities in response to emergency situations.

SA Ambulance Service has regional offices in Mount Gambier, Nuriootpa, Whyalla and Port Pirie.


Creative Commons License

The content on this page is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence, unless indicated otherwise.
To attribute this material, cite SA Ambulance Service, 2020.