Skip to main content

Pre 1950s

In 1920 there were a number of ambulance services operating in Adelaide and its suburbs: SA Ambulance Transport, SA Police (Civil Ambulance), and various private groups. St John Ambulance Brigade used to borrow a vehicle from SA Railways to provide assistance at the Victoria Park horseraces.

This resulted in many or no ambulances arriving at a scene. Usually, only minimal pre-hospital care was provided at the scene or on the way to hospital.

By 1934, several private services had disbanded, leaving three main ones: SA Ambulance Transport, Northern Districts Ambulance Service (owned by Prospect Council), and a service run by Hindmarsh Council.

In 1940 St John Ambulance Brigade established a close association with SA Railways staff in country townships. As a result, many St John first-aid divisions were established by railways staff in townships such as Naracoorte, Peterborough, Port Augusta, Port Lincoln, Strathalbyn and Tailem Bend.

Creative Commons License

The content on this page is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence, unless indicated otherwise.
To attribute this material, cite SA Ambulance Service, 2020.